The Schellemolen along the Damse Vaart


#photography

You can't miss the Damme mill. It stands high above his immediate surroundings next to the Damse Vaart in one of Damme's most picturesque spots. This makes it one of the most photographed mills in the world.

This place has been a wooden standard mill called the Scellemeulen since the beginning of the town. This mill was owned by the counts of Flanders; in 1267 these rights were sold to the city by Countess Margareta of Constantinople. However, half of the yield still had to be given to the graves.

The current mill was built in 1867 on the site where the wooden mill stood for centuries and remained in use until 1963. In 1971, it was bought by the province of West Flanders and restored in 1975-1977. It has been a protected monument since 1975 and since its restoration, the blades have been turning back into the wind in the summer. Also note the mermaid that is on top of the hood; a reference to the “legend of the mermaid”.

The mill is open to the public. Wheelchair users can view the lower floor. For opening hours, please contact the Tourism Office.
 
More



24 comments