If desired, you can have an extended post translated into several languages. Currently, only Dutch language is available. Multiple languages can be used with a subscription.
Why would you want to do that?For example, for informative posts. Then it is nice if it can also be read by foreigners.
How to do that in a short post?
- Klik op "Post maken" of "+"
- Een nieuw scherm opent. Maak de post, met content wat jij vertaald wilt hebben. (Vergeet de hashtags niet, anders kun je niet opslaan.)
- Klik op de vertaalknop om te zien of de gewenste taal is aangevinkt.
- Klik onderaan op "Post"
How to do that in a blogpost:
- Click on “Create new post” or “+”
- A new screen opens
- Click on “Expand your post with the editor” (as shown in the picture)
- A new screen opens. Create the post, with content you want translated. (Including hashtags, otherwise you will not be able to save.)
- Click at the bottom button on “Save” (not top right, because that's the accelerated way of saving, without the “Languages” option.)
- The “Content” tab opens. Click on “Next”
- Now comes the main thing: The tab “Languages” opens. Check (or uncheck) the language(s) of your choice
- Click on “Next” again
- The “Smart social” tab opens. Choose whether you want to use it
- Click on “Next” again
- The “Publish” tab opens. There you can choose to save as draft or publish.
After publicationAfter publishing, the translation button is not immediately visible. Wait till this one comes. Each translation of that post gets its own url.
- After publishing, add any related posts (which are in associated language).
- When you work on a post, and would save it, keep in mind that translation automatically will follow (unless you uncheck this before) when you save/publish it.
- Translated will be that what is saved first (with the checkmark at the chosen language). If you make changes to a post, the translation won't be changed. You could do that yourself.
- By default, the English translation option is already checked. If you don't want that, uncheck it.
- If you would delete the post in its original language, the corresponding translations will also be deleted!
Oops, didn't want to translate a certain post too?If, for whatever reason, you didn't want a translation of a certain post, you can go to that translation en delete it.
The original post will still exist (untill you decide to delete that one too).
Translation accidentally deleted?
This tip is for those who, for example:
have translated posts, but have accidentally deleted that translation
adjust a translation of a post, but suddenly lose its content.
What you could do in that case:
If the content of the translated version of a post, is empty, remove that version.
Save the original post again. This creates a new translation (unless you uncheck that option).
Updated april 6th 2020