What time is it in South Africa

Towards the end of the 19th century, the terms "South Africa", "Southern Africa" and "Africa South" were used interchangeably to describe the region between British India and Cape Colony. During the 20th century, however, they became more differentiated: South Africa became a republic in 1961, but it was not until 1994 that it became known as the "Republic of South Africa".


South Africa is located at the southernmost region of Africa, with a long coastline that stretches more than 2,500 km (1,553 mi) and along two oceans (the South Atlantic and the Indian). At 1,219,912 km2 (471,011 sq mi),[87] South Africa is the 24th-largest country in the world. It is about the same size as Colombia, twice the size of France, three times as big as Japan, four times the size of Italy and five times the size of the United Kingdom.


South Africa has an emerging economy with a GDP per capita of US$11,750 at purchasing power parity as of 2012. It also has a relatively high gross domestic product (GDP) compared to other countries in sub-Saharan Africa (US$400 billion at PPP as of 2012). The country has experienced high growth, with GDP growing by about 5% annually from 1995 to 2005, and 7% from 2005 to 2010. South Africa is one of the top 10 fastest growing economies in the world, with recent government figures projecting 7% growth for 2013.

Time Zone:

South Africa is located in the Southern African Time Zone (SAST). SAST is 2 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). This time zone is used in various African countries including South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho and Swaziland just to name a few. Daylight Saving Time or DST for short is not observed in this time zone. The offset is UTC+2:00 hours during standard time and UTC+3:00 hours during summer time.

South African Standard Time:

SAST is 2 hours ahead of UTC so that during the winter months there is no daylight saving time in South Africa. This means that South Africa does not use Daylight Saving Time in summer months when it is on SAST. Instead South Africa makes do with just one time zone all year round. Botswana also uses SAST all year round because they also do not use Daylight Saving Time. Lesotho has decided to create their own time zone called L.H.T -Lesotho High Summer Time- which is 1 hour behind SAST.

Current Time in South Africa:

South Africa is a country located at the southern tip of Africa. It is divided into nine provinces, with its capital city in Pretoria. South Africa has a population of over 53 million people and is a member of the BRICS group of countries. Time zones in South Africa are defined as UTC+02:00 and UTC+03:00 during standard time, and UTC+01:00 during daylight saving time (winter). South Africa shares borders with Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Swaziland, Botswana, Namibia and Lesotho, and surrounds the kingdom of Lesotho. It is the 25th largest country in the world by land area and has an extensive coastline on the Atlantic Ocean.

#timeinafrica #whattimeisitinsouthafrica

You share. We pay.