This healthy fish should be eaten more: But not all fish species are equally healthy! | leefnugezonder

This healthy fish should be eaten more: But not all fish species are equally healthy!

Healthy fish you need to eat more: But not all fish is healthy

Healthy fish is part of any healthy diet, even if you want to lose weight easier. But there should be an important remark on this. Not all types of fish are healthy. The Higher Health Council does not recommend eating healthy fish once a week. Healthy fish is, first of all, fatty fish. It is rich in healthy fats and especially of omega 3 fatty acids. Healthy fats are indispensable for several reasons, first of all as an indispensable source of energy.

But what is healthy fish and what species of fish should be left behind?

Fish is rich in healthy nutrients such as vitamins, minerals and proteins. But unfortunately not all fish species are equally healthy. Especially fatty fish species are a healthy choice to eat once a week.

Healthy fish is rich in fatty acids

Healthy fish contain a high concentration of healthy fatty acids, especially omega 3 fatty acids. They protect you against, for example, arteriosclerosis, cardiovascular diseases, high blood pressure and a disturbed cholesterol level. In addition, fatty fish also contains important vitamins such as B6 and B12 and iodine, phosphorus and selenium as mineral. Healthy fish is also an important source of high-quality protein. Proteins give you a longer feeling of satisfaction, making you eat less and lose weight easier.

Food supplements with fish oil

Fish oil, one of the most important ingredients of healthy fish, is therefore important for your health. And yet most of us eat too little fish. Do you also eat too little fish? Then you can partially compensate for this with natural nutritional supplements containing omega 3, EPA and DHA fatty acids. So they are a good alternative for those who receive too little of these fatty acids through their daily diet.

Recognize fresh

Healthy fish you prefer to eat as fresh as possible. Preferably directly from the sea on your plate. The eyes of fresh fish are transparent, the tail is strong, and the scales are wet and shiny. You can recognize fresh by its dry fins and by its grey gills. Choosing a fish with red is much less fresh than you think.

Fatty fish species are the healthiest

Healthy fish belong to the fatty fish species. They contain at least five percent healthy fats and especially fatty acids such as omega-3, EPA and DHA. Therefore, it is best to choose to eat fatty fish rich in oil, such as:

  • Sardines
  • Herring
  • Mackerel : most varieties of mackerel are rich in omega-3 fatty acids, but not all varieties of mackerel are equally healthy. For example, King mackerel, coming from the western Atlantic and the Gulf of Mexico, contain large amounts of mercury, a heavy metal that is harmful to your health.
  • Sprats
  • Wild salmon
  • Halibut
  • Plaice
  • Tuna
  • Sea bass
  • Shrimp
  • Pangasius
  • Turbot
  • Moss Oysters, shrimps and crabs

Unhealthy types of fish that you should not eat

Unhealthy fish species that are best left behind contain too much mercury, a heavy metal that is harmful to your health, especially to your nervous system and especially to the brains of unborn and young children.

Fish with a relatively high amount of mercury that you should not eat are:

  • catfish
  • King Mackerel
  • Blackfin tuna
  • tilapia
  • American eel species
  • Pangasius from Vietnam and the Mekong River
  • Tile Fish
  • Tuna
  • Rockfish: general term for fish hidden among the rocks. Sebastes in particular is a type of fish with a high mercury content.

Share and earn €0.001 every time someone reads this post.