Europe is the second-smallest continent as its land area is one-fifteenth of the world's total land area. Moreover, it is considered a large peninsula or a subcontinent. Europe is located in the western-portion of Eurasian landmass & in the Northern Hemisphere. Other bigger islands belong to Europe including, Iceland (the British Isles), the UK, & Ireland.

Europe's continent covers an area of about 10.2 million km² or 3,938,000 sq m. Moreover, Europe is 20 percent bigger compared to the United States. European Union covers an area of about 4.23-million km², excluding the UK.

How many countries are in Europe?
Europe has 50 countries and 44 sovereign nations or states.

List of European countries, population (2020), and their region:
1.    Russia, 145,934,462, Eastern Europe
2.    Germany, 83,783,942, Western Europe
3.    The United Kingdom, 67,886,011, Northern Europe
4.    France , 65,273,511, Western Europe
5.    Italy, 60,461,826, Southern Europe
6.    Spain, 46,754,778, Southern Europe
7.    Ukraine, 43,733,762, Eastern Europe
8.    Poland, 37,846,611, Eastern Europe
9.    Romania, 19,237,691, Eastern Europe
10.    Netherlands, 17,134,872, Western Europe
11.    Belgium, 11,589,623, Western Europe
12.    Czech Republic (Czechia), 10,708,981, Eastern Europe
13.    Greece, 10,423,054, Southern Europe
14.    Portugal, 10,196,709, Southern Europe
15.    Sweden, 10,099,265, Northern Europe
16.    Hungary, 9,660,351, Eastern Europe
17.    Belarus, 9,449,323, Eastern Europe
18.    Austria, 9,006,398, Western Europe
19.    Serbia, 8,737,371, Southern Europe
20.    Switzerland, 8,654,622, Western Europe
21.    Bulgaria, 6,948,445, Eastern Europe
22.    Denmark, 5,792,202, Northern Europe
23.    Finland, 5,540,720, Northern Europe
24.    Slovakia, 5,459,642, Eastern Europe
25.    Norway, 5,421,241, Northern Europe
26.    Ireland, 4,937,786, Northern Europe
27.    Croatia, 4,105,267, Southern Europe
28.    Moldova, 4,033,963, Eastern Europe
29.    Bosnia & Herzegovina, 3,280,819, Southern Europe
30.    Albania, 2,877,797, Southern Europe
31.    Lithuania, 2,722,289, Northern Europe
32.    North Macedonia, 2,083,374, Southern Europe
33.    Slovenia, 2,078,938, Southern Europe
34.    Latvia, 1,886,198, Northern Europe
35.    Estonia, 1,326,535, Northern Europe
36.    Montenegro, 628,066, Southern Europe
37.    Luxembourg, 625,978, Western Europe
38.    Malta, 441,543, Southern Europe
39.    Iceland, 341,243, Northern Europe
40.    Andorra, 77,265, Southern Europe
41.    Monaco, 39,242, Western Europe
42.    Liechtenstein, 38,128, Western Europe
43.    San Marino, 33,931, Southern Europe
44.    Holy See, 801, Southern Europe

Turkey occupies a small portion of East-Thrace of the European-Balkan Peninsula. Cyprus, an island in the Mediterranean Sea, is physically part of Asia Slight (Middle East). The Faroe Islands are a group of islands located between the North-Atlantic Ocean and the Norwegian Sea. These are self-governing areas of Denmark Kingdom. Greenland is located in North America and Danish territory. Kosovo is a partially recognized country in the southeast of Europe, basically in the Balkans region. A little piece of Western-Kazakhstan is also a part of Europe.

Some facts about Europe
•    European nations have had a prominent cultural influence throughout history, from the Greco-Roman empire era to the colonization of the New World during the time of Exploration.
•    Europe was a theater for World-War-II and World-War-I, though the conflicts expanded fast to a global scale.
•    Just 25 percent of Russia's land is in Europe.
•    Europe has a total estimated population of about 747 million people. The main languages of Europe include English, Portuguese, German, French, Greek, Spanish, Italian, and East-European languages.
•    Europe has 50 countries though some of the countries consist of islands, and others are partly in Europe.

#london #trip #paris #landscape #portugal #city #travelblogger #explore #vacation #travelling

How many countries are in Europe?