How many U.S. State

The United States of America comprises fifty states and the District of Columbia – or Washington D.C. Additionally, there are 48 contiguous states plus Alaska in far northern North America and Hawaii in the mid-Pacific. Additionally, the U.S. has five large territories and several islands.
The United States of America – abbreviated as the USA or the U.S. – is located on the North American continent. It is bounded on the south by Mexico and on the north by Canada.
The thirteen colonies, unsurprisingly, were the first thirteen states of being ratified. In 1787, Delaware, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania became the first states of being ratified. Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, and New York were ratified in 1788, while North Carolina, North Carolina, and Rhode Island were ratified in 1789 and 1790. Alaska and Hawaii, the only states that are not a part of the continental United States, were admitted as the final states in 1959.
Alaska is the United States' biggest state, covering an area of nearly 663,300 square miles. Rhode Island, on the other hand, is the smallest state with 1,212 square miles. On the other hand, California is the most populous state, with over 39 million citizens, while Wyoming has a population of only 577,000.
The United States is divided into four statistical regions, as defined by the United States Census Bureau. Each area contains several distinct states. The Northeast is the first region. This region is comprised of the following states:

  • Connecticut
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont

Region 2 is the Midwest. The states in this region include:

  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin

Region 3 is the South. The southern states are:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • Washington D.C.
  • West Virginia

Region 4 – the final region – is the West. The western states include:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • Oregon
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Wyoming

You share. We pay your share.