A large and continuous landmass on the Earth is called as a Continent. The whole land on the Earth is divided into seven continents namely Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe, and Australia. Most of these continents are separated by large water bodies called Oceans. Five oceans separate most of these continents which are the Pacific Ocean, Atlantic Ocean, Indian Ocean, Arctic Ocean, and Antarctica Ocean. Asia is the continent having the largest land area while Australia has the smallest.

Continents: Largest to Smallest
The widely recognized Continents are listed in the decreasing order of size, from largest to smallest.

Asia: Asian Continent is believed to be the largest out of the 7 Continents in the world. It includes 50 countries which makes it the most populated continent. It covers an area of 44 million 579 thousand sq. km. It covers about 9% of the total Earth's surface. The Pacific Ocean comes on the eastern border of Asia, and along the southern border comes the Indian Ocean. The Arctic Ocean comes on the northernmost border.

Africa: The African Continent consists of 54 countries. It is the hottest landmass where the largest desert of the world is present, known as the Sahara desert. This desert occupies about 25% of the total area of Africa. There are 7000 species of mammals, birds, animals, and more than 1 lakh species of insects. The African Elephant and the giraffe found in the Sahara Deserts are the centers of attraction. Several researches conducted in relation to human origin assert that Africa is the epicenter of human origin. Several archeological discoveries found the oldest human fossils on this land.

North America: 23 countries on North American Continent are led by the USA, making it the largest economy in the world. North America has a vivid diverse climate, geography, and rich wildlife that make the Continent unique containing extreme desert temperatures, snow-covered mountains, and the largest freshwater lakes.

South America: This Continent comprises 12 countries. The Amazon rainforest, which is the largest forest cover in the world, is located in South America. It covers about 30% of the total area of the South American Continent.

Antarctica: This Continent is the coldest in the world, covered with snow and ice throughout the year. Humans cannot survive in extreme conditions in the Antarctic Circle. So, there are no permanent inhabitants here, except for some scientists and co-workers maintaining a research center in Antarctica.

Europe: About 50 countries and several other territories form the European Continent. It is the most politically and economically developed region of the world. Several water bodies surround this continent such as the Mediterranean Sea and the Black Sea. Europe is entirely located in the Northern Hemisphere and is considered a part of Eurasia.

Australia: There are only 14 countries on the Australian continent. After Antarctica, it is the least populated Continent. Only 0.2% of the world's total population resides in Australia. It covers an area of 8 million 525 thousand 989 sq. km. Australia is referred to as the "Island" Continent due to the geography and size of the continent.

#sevencontinents #lakes #oceans #countries #worldcontinents #planet #australia #africa #asiancontinet #population

What are 7 Continents?