The four houses are referred to as Gryffindor, Hufflepuff, Ravenclaw and Slytherin. Each house has its own historical significance and has produced many outstanding witches and wizards. When you're at Hogwarts, your wins will increase your house points, while breaking any rules will cost you house points. By the end of the year each house has to earn points, which is called the House Cup. At the end of the year the house with the highest points is paid off the House Cup.

Category of Hogwarts School

Hogwarts School was divided into four houses. Godric Gryffindor was the master of Gryffindor, Helga Hufflepuff was given the responsibility of Hufflepuff House, Rowena Ravenclaw was tasked with looking after Ravenclaw, and Slytherin was founded by Salazar Slytherin.

Traits of every House

● Gryffindor is characterized by bravery, helping others and treating others with courtesy.

● The Hufflepuff give importance to hard work, patience, loyalty and fair play.

● The task of the Ravenclaw is to act with intelligence, wisdom, planning ahead and intelligence.

● Slytherin teaches penetration, slyness, inheritance, and resourcefulness.

House systems

The Hogwarts house had excellent facilities for students to live and study. Students were divided into groups and each year the group of students shared the same dermatology and several classes. The competition went on throughout the year to earn points for behavior. The house with the most points was awarded the House Cup as a reward. The Inter-House Quidditch Cup was made up of each home Quidditch team that competed in the competition. The biggest of these two competitions was between Gryffindor and Slytherin.


In the early days of Hogwarts, the four founders chose students for their homes. The founders were concerned about how the best students would be selected after his death, so Godric Gryffindor took off his hat to address this, and thus began the process of selecting future students for each household. A sorting ceremony was held at the beginning of each school year. A magic sorting cap was applied to each new student during the event.


Earlier, sorting was done to keep the students on the basis of qualities they valued or the qualities displayed by them, but later this practice continued, it is not clear that. Head also respected the wishes of the students.  Students living in one house could display the characteristics of the other houses.

House Dynamics

Despite having four houses, she was a symbol of institutions. Students shared lessons with classmates.  There was no rule to mingle with students from different households. Each household had a teacher who acted as the head of the household. There was also a house ghost in every house. Every student of the house used to be a disciple of that house before becoming the head and house ghost.


The story revolves around the lives of a group of young wizards and witches and their adventures. One aspect of the main arc is that most of the characters attend the magic school Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The Hogwarts house system plays an important role in character development.  Students coming from Hindi schools are classified in specific houses.

What is Harry Potter house?