Brief Summary

The National Football League (NFL) is a professional American football league. The NFL comprises 32 teams and these teams are divided equally between the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC).

The NFL is counted among the four major North American professional sports leagues and has the highest level of American football in the world. It has a regular session of eighteen weeks which runs from the beginning of September to the beginning of January.  

About tournament

Each team has seventeen games to play and a one-week bye. After the conclusion of the regular season, the winning seven teams from each conference (four division winners and three wild card teams) advance to the playoffs. A single-elimination tournament ends in the Super Bowl. The tournament is played in February between the AFC and the NFC Conference champions.


The NFL was founded in 1922 as the American Football Association (APFA). The NFL was founded in the season 1922 before being renamed the National Football League. Initially the champion was determined through the end of the season and a playoff system was implemented in 1933.

This system ended with the NFL Championship Game by 1966. An agreement was reached to merge the NFL with the rival American Football League (AFL). The Super Bowl was first held in 1967 to determine a champion between the best teams of the two leagues. It remains as the final game of the NFL season since the settlement was completed in 1970.


There are 32 clubs in the NFL. Each club consists of sixteen teams divided into two conferences. Each conference is divided into four divisions with four clubs each. During the regular season, each team is allowed to have a maximum of 55 players on its roster but only 48 of these players can play during the game. Each team may also include a twelve-player practice team apart from its main roster.

Division of Teams

In 2002 the NFL expanded to 32 teams. Due to which the league changed the division structure from three divisions in each conference to four divisions in each conference. As seen, each division champion receives a playoff bid and the number of wild card teams from each conference is reduced from three to two. The playoffs were expanded again in 2020 and two more wild card teams were added to bring the total to fourteen playoff teams.

The Green Bay Packers have jointly won the NFL Championship with thirteen. He won nine titles before the arrival of the Super Bowl and four titles after the arrival of the Super Bowl. Since the creation of the Super Bowl, the New England Patriots and Pittsburgh Steelers have held the most championships at six.

Team trophies

The National Football League uses three types of trophies to honor their champions. The first trophy was the Brunswick–Balke Collender Cup, which was donated to the NFL by the Brunswick–Balke Collender Corporation in 1920.

A second trophy was called the Ed Thorp Memorial Trophy, which was came out by the NFL from 1934 to 1967.

The NFL currently holds the Vince Lombardi Trophy. The Super Bowl trophy was named after Vince Lombardi in 1970. His role as head coach was instrumental in helping the Green Bay Packers win the first two Super Bowls.


Today the NFL is the most popular sports league in North America. Forbes has named the Dallas Cowboys, valued at approximately US$5 billion, the most valuable NFL franchise and the most valuable sports team in the world. In addition, 26 of the 32 NFL teams are ranked among the 50 most valuable sports teams in the world. As well as sixteen NFL owners are ranked on the Forbes 400 list. All these figures are more than the figures of any sports league or organization.

    What NFL teams are playing today?