What Time Zone Is Ohio?

The name "Ohio" originated from the Iroquois word ohi-yo', meaning "great river." Originally partitioned from the Northwest Territory, the state was admitted to the Union as the 17th state (and the first under the Northwest Ordinance) on March 1, 1803. Although there are conflicting narratives regarding the origin of the nickname, Ohio is historically known as the "Buckeye State" (relating to the Ohio buckeye tree), and Ohioans are also known as "Buckeyes." The government of Ohio is composed of three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial.

The capital of Ohio is Columbus. The current governor is John Kasich, a Republican. Ohio occupies 16 seats in the United States House of Representatives. It is known for its status as both a swing state and a bellwether in national elections. Owing largely to its strategic electoral importance, six Presidents of the United States have called Ohio their home state.


Eastern Standard Time ( EST ):
Eastern Time is a time zone in parts of Canada, the United States, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, some South American countries, and part of the Eastern Pacific Ocean.

Eastern Time is used – during part of the year – in five states in the United States: Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, and Virginia. This time zone also applies to Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. As it does not observe daylight saving time, Eastern Time can be useful for scheduling events and activities across time zones.
For example, if an event were scheduled for 3 pm, those in the Eastern Time Zone would call noon.

1) Eastern Standard Time ( EST ) is 5 hours behind GMT

2) Eastern Daylight Time ( EDT ) is 4 hours behind GMT

Daylight saving time (DST):
Daylight saving time was first introduced by Great Britain in 1883, followed by most countries in the Northern Hemisphere. Many countries have used it at various times since then, particularly since World War I. It has been used almost continuously since 1945. The local time now in Franklin is 11:48 pm. The local time zone is eastern daylight time, and the current date is Saturday, September 7, 2019. Now, it's 11:48 pm in Franklin (Ohio).

1) Eastern Daylight Time ( EDT ) is 4 hours behind GMT

2) Daylight Saving Time ( EDT ) is 4 hours behind GMT

Daylight Saving Time ( DST ) starts at 2 am local time and ends in November at 2 am local time. Times are adjusted by 1 hour forward for the USA eastern daylight saving time.

Time shift back in Ohio:
The rule in Ohio is that you must observe daylight saving time (DST) between the 2nd Sunday in March to the 1st Sunday in November. This means that when in U.S. Eastern Standard Time (EST) or (GMT-5), the effective clock change is at 02:00 local standard time to 03:00 local daylight time which is always one hour ahead of standard time and The time in Ohio, United States changes from Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) to Eastern Standard Time (EST) or (GMT-5) on November 2, 2018, at 02:00 am.

#timezoneinohio #ohiotime