Weed is also known as cannabis or marijuana. It’s a drug made from dried leaves of the hemp plant. This drug is illegal in most countries.

The use and possession of weed in the US is illegal according to the Controlled Substance Act of 1970. Despite this most states have legalized either medicinal or recreational or both use of weed. In thirty seven states the use of weed is legalized for medicinal use where you require a doctor’s recommendation.

This states include: Montana, Missouri, Mississippi, Minnesota, Michigan, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Louisiana, Illinois, Hawaii, Florida, District of Columbia, Delaware, Connecticut, Colorado, California, Arkansas, Arizona, Alaska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington and Alabama.

Each jurisdiction has its own criteria regarding what conditions weed can be prescribed for.
The amounts and process of issuing medical marijuana licenses to qualified residents also has their own criteria in these states.
In eighteen states the use of weed is legalized for recreational use in adults, this is according to the National Conference of State Legislatures.
These states include: Washington, Vermont, Virginia, Oregon, Nevada, New York, New Mexico, New Jersey, Montana, Michigan, Massachusetts, Illinois, Maine, Colorado, Connecticut, California, Arizona and Alaska.

Decriminalization is the reduction of penalties for a certain criminal act and in this case is weed possession and use. Jail time has been removed for possessing small amounts of marijuana in states that have both medical and recreational marijuana laws.
In thirty two states weed has been decriminalized. These states include: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont , Virginia and Washington.

In nineteen states the use of weed is fully legalized for adults for both medicinal and recreational use and is taxed and regulated similarly to alcohol.
These states include: Washington, Virginia, Vermont, Oregon, New York, New Mexico, New Jersey, Nevada, Montana, Michigan, Massachusetts, Maine, Illinois, District of Columbia, Connecticut, Colorado, California, Arizona and Alaska.

Some cannabis drugs have received the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approval. Some of these drugs include epidiolex and syndros.
Weed is still a scheduled I drug and the Rohrabacher- Farr amendment prohibits federal prosecution of people complying with the state medical cannabis law.
An individual may register as a medical marijuana patient if his or her doctor certifies that they suffer from a certain disease such as cancer, severe pain, AIDS, post-traumatic stress disorder among others.

Some say that marijuana poses a public health and safety risk and are morally against legalization but since the enactment of the 2018 Farm Bill hemp and hemp products have been legal.

Today the support for marijuana legalization has become the main topic among Democratic politicians and some Republicans also support the idea. Thus three -quarter of US states have legalized marijuana to some degree.
#cannabis #weed #medicalmarijuana #marijuana #cannabiscommunity

Which States is Weed Legal?