Formula E Rules

The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is composed of two distinct titles: one for drivers, the other for teams. The Formula E 2014/2015 season features ten teams.

As of Formula E Season 7, the Formula E championship has been granted World Championship status by the Federation Internationale de lAutomobile, as it has met the criteria to feature four manufacturers as competitors, and has been racing across three continents from 2015-16. Eight years on, Formula E is now firmly established as a part of the motorsports landscape, with a number of the biggest manufacturers in the world competing in it, and with it holding the official title of the World Championship.

Sixteen races

This season features a record sixteen races across twelve cities, including a return to ExCel, the London showpiece. Formula E races, in terms of time allocation, are likely to be somewhat Dali-esque in 2022.

Racing format

Ironically, Formula E and the FIA do have a little bit of time on their hands for new changes to the racing format to become established. Season 8 is the final Formula E season for the current cars, so things are changing for the upcoming season, where there are new manufacturers and new drivers, as well as greater autonomy for team development of batteries, potentially leading to a technology arms race. The hope is that a new one brings further excitement to a Formula E race weekend, continuing to let top teams and drivers show off their speed and skills as they battle for position on the grid, but also increasing the chance that any driver can get a move on, take a lap out of the bag, and find themselves starting at the sharp end of the grid.

22 car field. 11 drivers each

A new divides the 22-car field into two groups of 11 drivers each, determined using their rank in the Formula E drivers world championship. What the new qualifying format means is that drivers are divided into two groups, according to championship standings, and each group gets 10 minutes to set one lap. Under the current format (introduced for Season 8) drivers are divided into two groups, according to their driver positions within Formula E, with those who are ranked in odd-numbered places going to Group A and those who are ranked in even-numbered places going to Group B.


The group stages feature two groups of 11 drivers, ordered by their drivers world championship positions, competing on 220kW for a lap each over a 10-minute session, with the fastest four of each qualifying for the duels stages. The top four drivers from each session advance into the elimination format, where drivers are pitted against each other in pairs for a one-lap qualification duels. Just like in Formula One, qualifying decides which order drivers start in, with the fastest drivers lined up first, with the slower drivers behind.


At each race, the three best drivers are awarded trophies, while points are awarded to the top 10, according to a standard scoring system set by the Federation Internationale de lAutomobile (25 points for first place, 18 for second, 15 for third, 12 for fourth, 10 for fifth, eight for sixth, six for seventh, four for eighth, two for ninth, and one for tenth). In simple terms, the driver with the highest points total during a season is crowned champion--with the other, dedicated to a team, counting towards the points totals for both drivers. The exception is the opening races of the season, when each team is allowed to name a single driver in each bracket.

Only rule

The only rule consistent throughout all races is that every driver has to run in Attack mode at least once in every race. Attack mode is a temporary boost of horsepower used by all drivers across Formula E races. All drivers are required to use Attack Mode throughout a race -- but how many times they are required to use it, and for how long a brief boost in power is allowed, differs between circuits, and teams are told this just one hour before a race, so they cannot plan their tactics too far ahead.

Attack Mode

It also makes for exciting races if drivers are forced to pit from the other drivers, since they can use this as a chance to use Attack Mode to rejoin the fray. Entering into Attack Mode, which requires plenty of strategy to properly utilize, and with many rules that drivers must obey regarding their usage of Attack Mode, Attack Mode makes for some really fun racing too. Attack mode is the feature in Formula E races which forces drivers to be strategic all of the time, while maintaining good power management.


To activate the Attack Mode, drivers must weaponise their cars, navigate away from the race track, and pass the activation area. Drivers can lose position when going off the racing line, but as they exit the Attack Mode activation zone, they can use their additional strength to pass again and create an advantage.

Prior to every race

One hour prior to every race, or E-Prix, teams will be told how much time they will have in Attack Mode for every race, as well as both a maximum and a minimum amount of time that the driver may use Attack Mode. What the new rules will also mean for teams and drivers is going into the race, there is going to need to be a little bit of expectation of additional time, as an all-green-flag race is very rare in Formula E. On many tracks, the extra time can easily amount to three and sometimes four additional laps -- meaning engineering teams and drivers will need to insulate themselves with another layer of cleverness. The way his version of the extra time would work is that 45 seconds would be added to the standard 45-minute race time plus a lap for each minute spent behind a safety car or under a full-course caution.


Formula E Rules