Mr. Sunshine

#whatisontvfortonight Mr. Sunshine (Korean: 미스터 션샤인, lit. 'Miseuteo Sheonshain') is a 2018 South Korean television series, written by Kim Eun-sook and directed by Lee Eung-bok, starring Lee Byung-hun, Kim Tae-ri, Yoo Yeon-seok, Kim Min-jung and Byun Yo-han.

The series is set in Hanseong (Seoul's former name) in the early 1900s, and focuses on activists fighting for Korean independence. The series airs every Saturday and Sunday on tvN starting July 7, 2018. It premiered internationally on Netflix.

Mr. Sunshine focuses on Eugene Choi, a young man born Choi Yoo-jin into the family of a domestic servant, who traveled as a child to the United States during the U.S. Expedition to Korea (for Koreans Shinmiyangyo in Korean, 신미양요) of 1871. He returns to his homeland later as an officer in the United States Marine Corps. He meets and falls in love with Ae-shin, the daughter of an aristocrat. At the same time, in the face of the crisis of the Kingdom of Joseon, the conflicting plans of Japan, Russia and the United States to colonize Korea are developing.

photo by: Pixabay